This is a voluntary board comprised of community leaders, business people, educators, and parents committed to the success of our school and its mission. The Board of Directors convenes a monthly meeting on the second Tuesday of each month at 5:45pm at the school. Board meetings are open to the public. To learn more about the Board Nomination process,  click here.


Board of Directors Executive Committee 2017-18

Principal:   Robin Hollis

Kevin Nunley
Commercial Relationship Mgr, Senior Vice President: First Tennessee Bank

Immediate Past Chair:
Joan Marie Belnap
Business Administrator, Development Officer

Finance Chair:
Brittany Emery
Certified Public Accountant, Butler and Burke

Margaret Taylor
Professor, Wake Forest University Law School

Board Members

Kelly Carswell Emling, Sales/Marketing:  VP Corp

Kyle Barnes, Hanes Brands

Brian Cole, Dean of Music, UNCSA

Matthew Donnell, Director Prepartory Dance, UNCSA

Dr. Chris Gilmore, Physician: Carolina Pain Institute

Chrissy Hardy, Adjunct Instructor: Salem College

Cheryl D. Harry, Director of African American Programs:Old Salem Museum and Gardens

Ellen Heck, Studio Artist

Cheryl Hicks, Wake Forest University

Michelle Taylor Kennedy, Broadcast Meteorologist & Reporter: WXII-12

Amy Lanning,  Attorney

Debbie Linville, Professor: Salem College

Charlie McCurry, Attorney

Griff Morgan, Attorney

Linda Pass, Civil Engineer

Bill Scheidt, Artistic Director: Tam Tam Mandingue

Suzanne Shuford, Information Technology Consultant, Cardinal Solutions

Julia Toone, Executive Director, Family Services Davidson County


Non-Voting Board Members
ABS Principal – Robin Hollis
Parent Council Representative – Joy Blaser
School Leadership Team Representative – Paige Raper

ABS Grievance Policy
Each Board Meeting is open and accessible to parents and community members. The first fifteen minutes of the meetings provide an opportunity for parents to bring forward any concerns or complaints that need to be addressed. The complainant is encouraged to first address any grievance at the level at which the problem occurred. If a resolution cannot be reached at that level, the Board asks that the chain of command be observed: teacher, then Principal, then Chair of the Board.